Lake Washington Improvement Association Committees

Any residents who wish to participate in one or more of these committee activities are requested to contact the chairman of the committee or to attend one of the LWIA board meetings on the third Tuesday of each month and request to be added to the committee roster.

Gambling Committee

Chair: Gary Gavin

Members: Kent Reeves, Jim Folden, Nicki Veith

Gambling Staff: (Kathy Frauenholtz & John Lamm thru 12-31-23) Kent Reeves, Curt Wandersee

These committee members review the receipts from each charitable gambling facility as provided by the Gambling Manger. The committee members sign the checks that will be sent to selected recipients of the proceeds from pull tabs and provide support to the gambling manager as necessary.

Investment and Finance Committee

Chair: Gary Gavin

Members: Spencer Bradley

Water Quality Committee

Chair: Jim Folden

Members: Jason Femrite, Chuck Brandel, Greg Germscheid, Harlan Mehlhop, Karen Wright, Joel Prybylla, Alex Green

Committee Members monitor Lake Washington's Lake and stream water in order to identity new and existing problems, track water quality trends and assess the effectiveness of water management decisions.

Communications/Fund Raising/Website/Social-Media:

Chair: Dan Sachau

Members: Karen Wright, Kim Schmalzriedt, Jerry Lynch, Jim Folden, Zach Jasper

These committee members provide inputs and publish the WAVES Newsletter, and this committee publishes the yearly Lake Directory listing all residents of the lake. Residents are requested to provide suggested topics for the newsletters, or to provide short items for publication in the newsletter. This committee is also responsible to periodically arrange for speakers to present topics to the board.

Aquatic Invasive Species Committee

Chair: Brenda Hennek

Members: Jim Folden, Chuck Brandel, Alex Green

Fundraising Committee

Chair: Dan Sachau

Members: Spencer Bradley, Gary Gavin, Brenda Hennek, Kimberly Schmalzriedt, Jerry Lynch, Chuck Brandel

Lake Washington Sanitary District Board

Questions about the Lake Washington Sanitary District see

For Grinder issues, contact Shane Youell at

Bus Hours (8am-5pm) Phone: 507-995-7806

After Hours Phone: 507-345-0187


  • President: Jason Femrite 507-380-2464
  • Vice President: Chuck Brandel 507-327-8282
  • Secretary: Jim Folden 507-243-4114
  • Treasurer: Tom Dougan 507-317-0311
  • Board Member: Gary Gavin 507-440-3243

Government Meetings

The Kasota Township Board

Clerk - Darren Barfknecht 507-382-2408

The Kasota Township Board meets on the second Monday of the month at 5:00 PM at the Kasota Town Hall.

The LeSueur County Board

The LeSueur County Board Meets Tuesday every week at 9:30 am at the LeCenter court house. Meetings can be canceled if no important business.

Washington Township Board

Clerk - Susan Zebarth 507-317-3927

The Washington Township Board meets every second Monday each month 7:00 PM at the Marysburg Town Hall.